The SPARC Leadership Group is comprised of sport and recreation professionals from across Alberta, dedicated to ensuring all children and youth have access to quality sport and recreation experiences.  


All children and youth in Alberta have access to a grassroots recreational sport environment that fosters equity, diversity, inclusion, and builds positive youth development.


We are a provincial collaborative strengthening and building the capacity of organizations and communities to deliver quality, sports-based positive youth development programs to all children and youth in Alberta through engagement opportunities and resources.


Our goal is to build on the commitment and dedication within the SPAR sector to take a province-wide approach that results in a cultural shift in Alberta towards intentional positive youth development through sport.

Kid Climbing Wall

SPARC Leadership Group 2021:

  • Heather Cowie, General Manager, Community and Protective Services at City of Fort Saskatchewan (Chair)

  • Steve Allan, Executive Director, Alberta Recreation and Parks Association

  • Brian Torrance, Director, Ever Active Schools

  • Brad Babiak, Director, Strategy & Policy, Recreation & Physical Activity Branch, Government of Alberta

  • Dr. Nick Holt, Interim Dean and Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation

  • Jennifer Leo, Director at The Steadward Centre for Personal & Physical Achievement, University of Alberta

  • James Rosnau, Executive Director, Athletics Alberta

  • Stuart Rose, Sport Development Adviser, The City of Calgary

  • John Paton. Executive Director, Alberta Schools' Athletic Association

  • Laura Filipow, Program Director at Spirit North

  • Jake Hendy, Executive Director, Indigenous Sport Council Alberta

  • Eoghan Curran, Sport and Partner Liaison, City of Edmonton

  • Richard Way, Chief Executive Officer, Sport for Life

  • Gary Shelton, Executive Director, Edmonton Sport Council

  • Sue Hutton, Manager, Marketing, Programs and Partnerships, Strathcona County Recreation, Parks and Culture

SPARC Program Coordinator: CJ Blye (